Kwame Kilpatrick: Difference of opinion in Detroit, suburbs? - Fox 2 News Headlines

Kwame Kilpatrick: Difference of opinion in Detroit, suburbs?

Posted: Updated:

Is there a difference in opinion about former Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick in the city than in the suburbs?

Dishonest, criminal, corrupt, thug and gangster -- those were the words some suburbanites used to describe Kilpatrick.

"He robbed Detroit and look at the suits he's wearing and the attitude he's got," one woman told us.  "Detroit is falling apart, and there he is walking around with $500, $600 suits and laughing."

"Morals and values are kind of off, I guess," another person said.

"From all the transcripts and everything else, I would have to say that he's kind of S. O. L," a third individual remarked.

Does the opinion of Kilpatrick change in Detroit?

"I think he's been punished enough already, and I think they (are) just dragging him through the coals right now, and it's like an overkill," one man said.  "People in Detroit feel kind of a kinship towards Kwame Kilpatrick because they can probably identify with some of the things he did."

"Former mayor of the City of Detroit who's got himself in a little bit of trouble," another person told us.  "I think he's a good individual.  I just think he made some mistakes."

"Crook," yet another said.

"Him not even being in that office anymore, I think it's a moot point as to whether or not I trust him," one individual remarked.

"People blame him for a lot of things that he's not responsible for," a woman expressed.  "I don't think that I would convict him."

Check out Charlie Langton's video report for even more reaction.

  • Charlie LangtonCharlie LangtonMore>>

  • Rally held to stop the violence in Inkster following shooting

    Rally held to stop the violence in Inkster following shooting

    Monday, July 7 2014 12:58 AM EDT2014-07-07 04:58:10 GMT
    They rallied to stop the violence in Inkster Sunday after a triple shooting that claimed a two year old girl's life. Her father and a 12-year-old girl are still recovering from gunshot wounds and two suspects are in custody.
    They rallied to stop the violence in Inkster Sunday after a triple shooting that claimed a two year old girl's life. Her father and a 12-year-old girl are still recovering from gunshot wounds and two suspects are in custody.
  • Teenager injured by hit and run driver

    Teenager injured by hit and run driver

    Monday, July 7 2014 12:13 AM EDT2014-07-07 04:13:59 GMT
    A hit and run driver sends a teenager to the hospital. The boy has serious injuries and the driver is still out there.
    A hit and run driver sends a teenager to the hospital. The boy has serious injuries and the driver is still out there.
  • Man set free amid serial bank robbery charges

    Man set free amid serial bank robbery charges

    Wednesday, July 2 2014 9:11 PM EDT2014-07-03 01:11:05 GMT
    CENTER LINE, Mich. (WJBK)-- Glynn Jones, Jr. was let go from jailtoday as judge determined he was not responsible forfive bank robberies across metro Detroit.Jones looked similar to a man who was caught on surveillance video robbing a PNC Bank in Center Line and whom police believed robbed several other banks in the area. Despite passing a polygraph test, Jones spent 10 days in jail before being released today."No evidence, no evidence of money, no evidence of clothing, no fingerprints, nothi...
    CENTER LINE, Mich. (WJBK)-- Glynn Jones, Jr. was let go from jailtoday as judge determined he was not responsible forfive bank robberies across metro Detroit.Jones looked similar to a man who was caught on surveillance video robbing a PNC Bank in Center Line and whom police believed robbed several other banks in the area. Despite passing a polygraph test, Jones spent 10 days in jail before being released today."No evidence, no evidence of money, no evidence of clothing, no fingerprints, nothi...
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • Sunday's storm captured by Fox 2 viewers

    Sunday's storm captured by Fox 2 viewers

    Sunday, July 27 2014 11:48 PM EDT2014-07-28 03:48:38 GMT
    We have more video of the storm and storm damage from across southeast Michigan. It's Fox 2 viewer pics and video that you sent to us.
    We have more video of the storm and storm damage from across southeast Michigan. It's Fox 2 viewer pics and video that you sent to us.
  • Storm damage in Oakland and Macomb counties

    Storm damage in Oakland and Macomb counties

    Sunday, July 27 2014 11:26 PM EDT2014-07-28 03:26:48 GMT
    Damage was reported across Metro Detroit Sunday after severe storms moved across our area. About 200,000 customers lost power in the hail, heavy rain, strong winds, localized flooding and thunder and lightning.
    Damage was reported across Metro Detroit Sunday after severe storms moved across our area. About 200,000 customers lost power in the hail, heavy rain, strong winds, localized flooding and thunder and lightning.
  • Person of interest sought in April Millsap murder

    Person of interest sought in April Millsap murder

    Sunday, July 27 2014 7:57 PM EDT2014-07-27 23:57:45 GMT
    We now know more about who police are looking for in the murder of April Millsap, 14, of Armada. Sunday, police released a sketch of a person of interest in the unsolved case.
    We now know more about who police are looking for in the murder of April Millsap, 14, of Armada. Sunday, police released a sketch of a person of interest in the unsolved case.
Powered by WorldNow

WJBK-TV | Fox 2
16550 West Nine Mile Rd.
Southfield, MI 48075

Main Station: (248) 557-2000
Newsroom: (248) 552-5103

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Ad Choices