E3 Game Preview: Skylanders Swap Force - Fox 2 News Headlines

myFOX Tech

E3 Game Preview: Skylanders Swap Force

Posted: Updated:
  • Tech Talk with Derek KevraMore>>

  • Tech Talk: Cranbrook's telescopes unrivaled in Midwest

    Tech Talk: Cranbrook's telescopes unrivaled in Midwest

    Friday, April 18 2014 9:14 AM EDT2014-04-18 13:14:49 GMT
    The last time the Cranbrook Institute of Science got a new telescope, Charles Lindbergh had just finished flying the Spirit of St. Louis from New York to Paris. But thanks to a recent donation, they now have one of the best in the Midwest.
    The last time the Cranbrook Institute of Science got a new telescope, Charles Lindbergh had just finished flying the Spirit of St. Louis from New York to Paris. But thanks to a recent donation, they now have one of the best in the Midwest.
  • Tech Talk: Zepp analyzes, improves your swing

    Tech Talk: Zepp analyzes, improves your swing

    Friday, April 11 2014 8:44 AM EDT2014-04-11 12:44:53 GMT
    Unless you're a big league ball player, analyzing your swing has always been just watching yourself on tape. Until now. In this edition of Tech Talk, Derek Kevra shows us Zepp, the 3D sensor that analyzes and improves your game.
    Unless you're a big league ball player, analyzing your swing has always been just watching yourself on tape. Until now. In this edition of Tech Talk, Derek Kevra shows us Zepp, the 3D sensor that analyzes and improves your game.
  • Tech Talk : Spring cleaning for your computer

    Tech Talk : Spring cleaning for your computer

    Friday, March 28 2014 9:38 AM EDT2014-03-28 13:38:33 GMT
    By Derek Kevra When it comes to spring cleaning, we often think of our houses, garages and cars.But what about your computer? 
    By Derek Kevra When it comes to spring cleaning, we often think of our houses, garages and cars.But what about your computer? 

It is no surprise that gaming is huge with younger players and, equally unsurprising, is the fact that the Skylanders video game franchise and its accompanying merchandise has found a home in the hearts of young players who can play with the very same characters they own outside the game. The model works well- play the game, own the toys, which are actually a part of the video game play. Skylanders Swap Force takes the model to the next level, making the game dynamics even more interactive! In short, expect your children to be adding this to their birthday and ChristmKwaanzUkkah wish lists.

If you're unfamiliar with the Skylanders titles, allow me to briefly bring you up to speed. Create a video game that comes with a toy that plugs into your Xbox360 called the "Power Portal." Create action figures that you place on this Power Portal, which then places those figurines inside the game as playable characters. Each character has its own unique powers and characteristics so, naturally, your children are going to want each character so their game play experience is well rounded which eventually becomes a need to collect each character and any variations of the characters. Now, how do you take that model to the next level? New characters that are part of the "Swap Force" which allows you to combine your favorite super powers from each character by mixing and matching the action figures' upper torsos and lower bodies.

What's so great about Skylanders: Swap Force the game is that it will keep your young ones busy longer. As fun as previous Skylanders games have been, they were not terribly difficult to master and beat since they were aimed at a younger audience but having "educated" those players as the franchise has grown, Swap Force takes the difficulty level up a notch- even though it stays close to its roots, keeping play accessible to young gamers. Skylanders SWAP Force will be available with 16 action figures, in the U.S. October 13th beginning at $14.99 for individual SWAP Force figures, going up to $74.99 for the SWAP force starter pack.

  • Tech NewsTech NewsMore>>

  • myFOX Tech

    Tired, Sore Eyes? Enter: Gunnar Optiks Intercept

    Tired, Sore Eyes? Enter: Gunnar Optiks Intercept

    Thursday, April 17 2014 1:39 PM EDT2014-04-17 17:39:18 GMT
    I met the folks from Gunnar Optiks at CES this year and they had something new to show me. The Intercepts. I have a big head, these are big frames, it was kismet but do they work as good as they look? We'll see.
    I met the folks from Gunnar Optiks at CES this year and they had something new to show me. The Intercepts. I have a big head, these are big frames, it was kismet but would my eyes revel in this serendipitous confluence of events? We'll see.
  • myFOX Tech

    Burger King Launches Whopper Wi-Fi Network

    Burger King Launches Whopper Wi-Fi Network

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 4:58 PM EDT2014-04-16 20:58:32 GMT
    The next time you're in a Burger King, and you're in need of some wi-fi the King's got you covered with their new "Whopper Wi-Fi" network. Best part, it's free! Watch out Starbucks.
    The next time you're in a Burger King, and you're in need of some wi-fi the King's got you covered with their new "Whopper Wi-Fi" network. Best part, it's free! Watch out Starbucks.
  • myFOX Tech

    Early Preview: Microsoft Windows Phone's Cortana

    Early Preview: Microsoft Windows Phone's Cortana

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 12:34 PM EDT2014-04-16 16:34:11 GMT
    Move over Google Now and Siri, there's a new gal in town and she's pretty classy! I take an early look at Microsoft's new smartphone personal digital assistant, Cortana.
    Move over Google Now and Siri, there's a new gal in town and she's pretty classy! I take an early look at Microsoft's new smartphone personal digital assistant, Cortana.
Powered by WorldNow

WJBK-TV | Fox 2
16550 West Nine Mile Rd.
Southfield, MI 48075

Main Station: (248) 557-2000
Newsroom: (248) 552-5103

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Ad Choices